My Quick (almost) Authentic Pizza

DSC_8451

I get a little hungry in the middle of the afternoon and the nice part of working at home is having the ability to make a quick snack anytime I have a chance! In this case it also helps fill the creative void of not having a model to shoot. This is a blog about passion is it not? and one of my passions is food. I am so glad eating isn’t a chore like mowing the lawn!

I also love to cook and over the years have spent some time working in the kitchen and cooking for a few hundred people every once an awhile. ( I wonder if I can write this meal off?) Anyway one of my little snacks I developed a few years ago and I have been using at impromptu dinner parties or late night treats is a pizza using Naan Bread.

This is a simple recipe that really only takes few minutes to assemble and about 10-15 to cook. I use a Suraj Naan Bread that I found in the local Superstore, I have used it for years when cooking curries and it preforms very nicely as an artisan style pizza shell.

DSC_8433

The pizza sauce is store bought as well you can make your own, I use tomatoes, onions, garlic and puree with some basil. When I use the store bought sauce I add some fresh basil.

DSC_8430

A light layer of sauce is all you need I place the naan on a cookie sheet, with extra virgin olive oil.

The cheese is the most important for me. If you are really gonna try this it I really, really strongly suggest finding a fresh mozzarella with a high moisture content. I know this isn’t something most would buy but you need to really try this just once and when you do sauce and cheese is a must. I cannot stress this enough make yourself one with just cheese and sauce you will flip out! The cheese I use has a 60% moisture rating and is my favourite.

DSC_8435

As you can see you can just slice a few pieces and place them spread out on the naan and place in the oven 425 for 10-15 minutes or until the cheese bubbles and turns light brown.

DSC_8443 DSC_8436
You can put anything on your pizza but keep in mind that when Italians make pizzas it often after a celebration or wedding and they are using the left-overs. These ingredients are the of high caliber and really make the pizza taste amazing. I would do things like roasted chicken, or smoked salmon, shrimp and capers or sliced peppers and italian sausage.

I like to finish with some shaved parmasian and basil and brush the edges with olive oil!

DSC_8446

Leave a Reply

