Shoot stuff you love, LUNCH!!!

Its been said many times, one should write about things one knows. The same applies to photography. I am lucky that I love many things and enjoy spending time creating in many genres. Sometimes I just want to bake, cook or make something different to eat. When I was much younger I seriously wanted to become a chef and have my own restaurant. I had even applied and was accepted to cooking school, but chose a different route(Go Figure). I have worked in restaurants  and even dabbled with my own catering company for a few years. Needless to say I am passionate about food!

Today I made myself a lunch that I truly enjoyed while writing this post. While I was making it I remembered that a school buddy and chef had recently asked me for some info on cameras and shooting tips as he was looking to create some photos of his gastronomic creations for his blog. (See the link to Tom’s Blog in the links section at the bottom of the page!)

I decided that I would shoot my lunch, let me tell you about it.  I started with a can of salmon, I know what you’re thinking, lets get this out of the way right now! This is not normal canned salmon, this is extraordinary canned salmon that was given to me by my brother who received it from a client of his. I can’t pinpoint the origin but this salmon is the only canned salmon I would ever eat. I don’t even eat my mom’s, Ya it’s that good!

Anyway combine the following:

1 can of great salmon

1/4 cup diced onions

1/4 cup  celery chopped

1/2 cup broccoli slaw ( available in the mixed greens/salads section)

with juice of half a small lime, mayo, green curry paste, mango chutney, cayenne pepper, capers and bocconcini pearls. Toss and serve with warm naan bread and key lime halves, capers and mango chutney for garnish.

Enjoy two of my passions colliding 🙂

And please visit Tom’s blog and learn how a pro makes lunch.

One thought on “Shoot stuff you love, LUNCH!!!

Leave a Reply

